UK announces visa-free entry for several Islamic countries

London: The UK has announced significant changes to its visa policies, aiming to facilitate easier entry for citizens of Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) nations and Jordan.

In a statement released by the British government, it was revealed that these countries will transition to an electronic travel permit system by 2024.

Under this system, residents from the Gulf countries, including Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, the Emirates, and Jordan, will no longer require visit visas to enter the UK. The move towards an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) system is poised to simplify the entry process, doing away with the necessity of obtaining a visit visa.

As per the official statement, the visa exemption implementation is set to take effect after February 22, 2024. Under this new system, tourists of all age groups will be required to electronically apply for a travel permit, priced at £10, which will then be issued for their travel purposes.

This strategic shift in visa regulations aims to streamline entry procedures, fostering smoother and more accessible travel for citizens of these nations intending to visit the United Kingdom.